Leave a comment

September Favorites 2014

photo (4)

Beauty and Skincare:

Lorac pro palette- I have been wanting this palette for a while now and I finally broke down and bought this 42 dollar beauty.  The shadows are so buttery, pigmented, and blendable.  It’s the perfect mix of neutral and daring shades.  There see enough colors to get a range of looks and you guys know I love versatility.  A few of my favorites shades are mauve, cream, and garnet.  Yes, some of these shades can be messy because they are so soft, but you just need a lighter hand with these.  I would recommend getting this palette if you are first starting out or an experienced make up artist because it is just so versatile and easy to use with beautiful shades.

Revlon Colorstay Mineral Blush in Petal- I have been using this blush non stop this month.  I have mostly been using it because you can’t really mess up.  When I’m doing my makeup blush is the last thing I put on so it’s either done in a rush or completely forgotten.  This makes it easy to brush all over my cheeks quickly without looking like a clown.  It’s gives me just a bit of light pink glow that goes with every eye look I try.

Boots No7 Beautiful Skin Night Cream- I have been using this for about a month now and my skin loves it!  It’s the first thing I put on after I take my makeup off at night.  It moisturizers my skin better than anything than I have ever used and if I forget to use it for a few days I immediately notice it.  I think it runs about ten dollars, but it’s worth every penny.  I just love the creamy formula and it sinks into the skin so quickly I would imagine it would work well under makeup.  It will be a sad day when I finish what I have left, but then I’ll just have to go out and buy another one.

Fashion:

Timex Watch- We all know I have a watch thing.  And if this watch was a pair of jeans it would be the black skinny jeans I wear with everything.  This watch is simple, but that’s what I love about it.   It’s simple enough that I can wear it everyday and the leather strap and silver hardware make it perfect for work.  To be honest, the more I wear it the more I think it’s a men’s watch, which also doesn’t bother me.  This purchase was inspired by lily pebbles.  She always wears a watch similar to this and I thought it would work on me.  It has a bit of masculinity (like I said it may or may not be a men’s watch), but it’s also got a hint of femininity with the font of the numbers, if that makes sense. I also dig that it has the date and glows in the dark, but that’s just an added bonus.

Locket- I recently purchased this locket at H&M and I have been wearing it quite a bit.  I wear it with t-shirts, collared shirts, and eventually sweaters when it gets colder.  When went shopping I had been looking for a long necklace with some type of pendent.  When I say long I mean to a little above my waist.  I’m going to go ahead and guess an 18″ chain.  What really caught my eye was the detail on the locket and then when I realized it was a locket I was sold!

Gap t-shirts- I bought these shirts back around Labor Day.  I was looking for a flowy type of tee that would be just a kind of straight silhouette because whenever I see Vivianna from Vivianna Does Makeup wear one I lose my mind!  Her look is so easy and I wanted something similar.  I found these an couldn’t believe my luck.  They are comfy with a loose, almost drapey quality. I got a gray and black one and I want to get more mostly so I can wear these every day to work.

Random:

Book: The Girl Who Played With Fire by stieg larsson- Last summer I read the girl with the dragon tattoo by the same author via recommendation of a friend.  That one is amazing, and the movie is actually a pretty good representation of the book. So this summer I read the second book in the series, (there are three) and I remembered why I loved the first so much.  I guess I would categorize this as a thriller, or maybe a mystery.  Anyway in both the two main characters are trying to solve a murder.  The main characters are Lisbeth Salander an introvert that everyone underestimates and Mikael Blomkvist who is a journalist trying to get the truth.  It is a bit graphic at times so the faint of heart beware.   Otherwise it’s a great series and you should check it out!

Movie: The Fault In Our Stars- ok guys, don’t judge me.  I read the book back in august and you may remember from my august favorites and I loved it!  So naturally I had to watch the movie.  It was exactly what I expected and I loved every second of it. Sometimes you just need a mushy, lovey dovey movie and I got all of that! It’s not for everyone I’m sure, but I enjoyed my Sunday night in watching it.

Leave a Reply

